Tags

, , , , , ,


Insurgent by Veronica Roth (2012)
Insurgent (2012)
by Veronica Roth
Audiobook Edition
Publication Date: May 1st, 2012
Publisher: HarperTEEN; Katherine Tegen Books
Buy a copy via Amazon.
Synopsis from Goodreads.

One choice can transform you—or it can destroy you. But every choice has conse­quences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

My Thoughts:
Since I don’t have time to read anything but college textbooks lately, I decided to listen to the audiobook of Insurgent during my three hour commute. I wasn’t a big fan of Divergent, but with all the gushing reviews for its sequel, Insurgent, I wanted to join the party. I’m convinced everyone who gave Insurgent a glowing, perfect review is either bribed with brownies or under simulation. I just had to take myself out of blogging hiatus to rant about this mess of a book.

Tris, The Girl Who Got Possessed by Bella:
I was ambivalent towards her in Divergent, but I loathed her in Insurgent. For a chick that has aptitude for Erudite, she seems to be missing a few brain cells. The most frustrating thing is everyone around her fuels her superiority delusion by saying things like “Oh, you are part Erudite! You must be smarter than all of us! I would’ve never thought of that! We are all such dum-dums!” I’m going to shoot myself if my fate rested upon a mean, suicidal, and emotionally unstable sixteen year old, even if her IQ happens to be higher than mine. Girl doesn’t even have common sense, no wonder the simulation tests don’t work on her.

After witnessing her parents’ and best friend’s death, she goes into emo, suicidal mode. Bella style. But maybe slightly better than Bella because Tris is also obsessed with being a hero, which means plunging herself into dangerous situations as a sacrifice without thinking. And it always backfires. Which leads me to this:

A Brief Summary of Tris from The First Two Thirds of the Book:

Four: I LOVE YOU. Please don’t throw away your life and do stupid things, Tris!
Everyone Else: Please don’t do stupid things, Tris!
Tris: What stupid thing?
*rinse and repeat*

Later,

Tris: OH NO! I feel so much guilt over my parents and Will! I must join them! I will throw myself out for sacrifice to join them! THAT’S SO BRAVE OF ME!

*ten seconds before dying*

Tris: Hold up! This dying stuff is serious business! I don’t want to die anymore! I have come to the insightful conclusion that the best way to honor my parents is to live my life out to the fullest!

I wish I was exaggerating, but that’s exactly how it went down.

Throughout the book, Tris felt like a whiny kid who gets all huffy when the adults won’t tell let her make big decisions. I wince when I hear Tris trying to insult someone, it inevitably sounds like she is trying too hard and failing miserably. And when she is called out on being stupid…she blames it on her age. Way to shrink from responsibility, Tris. I know she is trying to come to terms with her family, but stop ruining everyone else’s life! Just hide in a corner and grieve like normal people.

If Four was Asian, All Hell Would Break Loose:
I thought he was a cool bad boy in Divergent, but he just upgraded himself from bad boy to lame, arrogant guy. The source of my anger: he beats up his father–which is not cool, even if your father locked you in a closet and even if he has semi-shady intentions. You just don’t punch your own defenseless, dad in the face because you felt like it. At the end of the day, guess who brought you into this world? You ungrateful jerk. (Yes, I am aware I’m speaking like an Asian)

And he also gets his friends caught when he REFUSES to blend into a group. And to make matters worse, he talks back in arrogance to a guard–which basically screams “I AM DAUNTLESS, COME AND GET ME! LALALALA.”

Romance, Where Tris Keeps Lying and Making False Promises to Four:
Two arrogant, stupid teenagers, who also happen not to be very nice–a match made in heaven. I think this drugged outburst by Tris sums it all up nicely:

I pout my lower lip for a second, but then I grin as the pieces come together.
“That’s why you like me!” I exclaim. “Because you’re not very nice either! It makes so much more sense now.”

And then Tris lies. A lot. Tris’ false promises annoyed me because they made her not only suicidal, but suicidal AND a promise breaker. And right after Four declared his love too. This is not how you sustain a relationship, Tris.

Everything Else:
A lot of action, secret plots, and deaths bundled up in a gigantic mess that I didn’t give a damn for. How ironic that the chick throwing herself out to be killed is never successful. As for the society–I give up trying to make logical sense out of it. I was completely lost with what Faction is on what side and the Dauntless Traitors and Loyal Dauntless…blah blah blah. And that ending…Maze Runner or Variant, anyone?

I fail to find any redeeming factors, unless you count having no grammar errors and coherent sentences. At least I was able to get throughout it without flinging my IPod out the window.

Rating: D