Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,


Waiting On Wednesdays

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

The Hollow City by Dan Wells (2012)
The Hollow City (2012)
by Dan Wells (blog.)
Publication Date: July 3, 2012
Publisher: Macmillian: Tor Books.

preorder a copy via Amazon.
check out the book at Goodreads.

Michael Shipman is paranoid schizophrenic; he suffers from hallucinations, delusions, and complex fantasies of persecution and horror. That’s bad enough. But what can he do if some of the monsters he sees turn out to be real?
Who can you trust if you can’t even trust yourself? The Hollow City is a mesmerizing journey into madness, where the greatest enemy of all is your own mind.

-description from Macmillian.

My Thoughts:
I originally had another book (coincidently, another Macmillian book) I was planning to feature for this week’s Waiting On Wednesday since I already posted about Dan Well’s Isolation on last, last week’s WOW and it felt like I was violating my imaginary rule of “don’t post too much about one author, it will bore your readers.” I ended up shifting the book I planned to post this week over to next week because if I waited another week, this book would already be released, and that can’t happen–it would ruin my plans of being a hipster. And I ignored my imaginary rule because I don’t have readers anyway.
So what made me reschedule my post? Dan Wells’ podcast, Writing Excuses did. That podcast is oddly addicting…even if I have no plans to become a novelist. I happened to be listening to the episode about Pitching last week, when Wells presented his one-line pitch for The Hollow City: “the story a guy with schizophrenia who realizes that some of the monsters he sees are real.” And that sold me.

So in adherence to my imaginary rule, I will put myself on a Dan Wells posting ban until…well, the release of Isolation probably.

Do you have a book that is making you count down to its release date? Leave a comment, I would love to know.

