Tags

, , , , ,


From The Review Pile From the Review Pile is a meme hosted by Stepping Out of the Page every Thursday. The aim of this meme is to showcase books that you’ve received for review (or if you don’t receive review books, any book that you own and really want to read/review) but haven’t yet got around to reading, in order to give the book some extra publicity.

I know that a lot of you have a huge pile of books that you want to read/review, but it understandably takes a while to get around to reading them all – here you can give a book (or two!) some of the publicity that it deserves, even if you haven’t read it yet!

Everybody Says Hello by Michael Kun (2012) Everybody Says Hello (2012)
by Michael Kun
Publication Date: April 16, 2012
Publisher: Livingston Pr
purchase a copy via Amazon.
Goodreads.


Sid Straw, the author of the correspondence that forms Everybody Says Hello, isn t Everyman, but he is someone everyone knows. He tries just a little too hard, says just a little too much, and that extra effort and those extra words are often his undoing. If only Sid could get out of his own way, his life would be wonderful. While Sid Straw may frustrate you at times, you ll end up rooting for him the same way you root for your own equally imperfect friends. -description from Amazon.


My Thoughts: Everybody Says Hello has been on my wishlist for a while. And when I received an email from the author asking if I would like a review copy of it, I must’ve danced around the room for five minutes before settling down to write a coherent reply (with the room door closed of course, I am not that bold). I was even happier when I got home from my month-long trip to Hong Kong to see the package waiting for me. Now it sits on top of my TBR pile, and I can’t wait to get to it very, very soon. But since I have other books demanding my attention before I can get to it, I just needed this opportunity to show it off.

I put Everybody Says Hello on my Goodreads to-read list because of an article on BOOK RIOT talking about humor in novels (I challenge you to read that article and not have this overwhelming desire to read Kun’s work). I LOVE humor, not the I-am-going-to-make-people-call-this-book-hilarious-but-it’s-actually-just-ridiculousness trap I keep falling into whenever I read book blurbs on back covers. How am I supposed to resist if someone calls Michael Kun “one of the funniest writers in America” and gives him credit for making her “get off the bus because [she] was laughing“?

There’s also a giveaway for Everybody Says Hello on Goodreads until June 15th, click here to enter before time runs out! (Boy, do I sound like a TV marketer)

Do you have a review book that you would love to share? Join in on the meme!

