Tags

, , , , , , ,


Weigh in Wednesday

Weigh in Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Lauren at Epilogue, and is a interactive, discussion meme.

Weigh in Wednesday #8 Kindle vs. Nook
I currently own a Kindle Touch, which I won in a blog tour giveaway. I was actually given the choice between a Nook or a Kindle, and after about an hour or two of “research”, I happily settled on the Kindle. I can’t say I really wavered, because two things solidified my decision: a Kindle Touch can play audio files while I read (since I love playing some soothing instrumental music while I read), and there is a Web Browser (it was slow, but came in handy if I wanted to check email, Facebook, or Twitter.) Not to mention, I am a big fan of Kindle’s free ebooks, which I can download onto my Kindle in one-click and their Send to Kindle service which allows me to send any supported format onto my Kindle via WiFi (I sent my study guides from my PC to my Kindle during finals season to study to the bus.) The Nook maybe look prettier, open epubs, and fit better in the hand, but I knew I wanted the music, and my Twitter.

Kindle’s new translation features are a charm as well, and comes in handy when my mom reads her Chinese ebooks on my Kindle. I wish I could disable the page numbers/percentage read though, since I inevitably get antsy once I reach the last few chapters of a novel, racing to the end so I can open a new book from my towering TBR pile.

For me, there’s just no contest between a Kindle and a Nook. The Kindle wins, hands down.

What e-reader do you have, or planning to own? Would you choose a Kindle or a Nook, or perhaps a Kobo or Sony e-reader? Leave a comment, I would love to know.

