Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Room: A Novel

Room: A Novel (2011)
by Emma Donoghue
buy a copy via Amazon.
synopsis via Goodreads.

Told entirely in the language of the energetic, pragmatic five-year-old Jack, “Room” is a celebration of resilience and the limitless bond between parent and child, a brilliantly executed novel about what it means to journey from one world to another.

My Thoughts:
It was a struggle to finish, the tedium of the five-year old narrator along with the slow pace wrestled with my patience. It was one of those books that seemed like it was getting nowhere, and when it finally did, it only lasted three pages. The plot was interesting, but perhaps the lack of dimension amongst characters, or even the lack of “main” characters made it a bore. Though I suspect it might also be because the narrator is too young to develop, or adequately flesh out his observations. Basically the narrator asks a multitude of questions, and is befuddled throughout the book, with spasms of intelligence. Honestly, I want to smack the narrator for being a selfish brat on multiple occasions, but I am sure I the five-year old me probably would have been the same.

I don’t think I will be able to read a book narrated by a five-year old again. Though on the plus side, there are no difficult words whatsoever, and not much room for ambiguity.

Rating: B

