Tags

,



Today, let’s talk about other stuff I read: textbooks! I hate them.

They are ridiculously heavy. My mom jokingly attributes my short height to the six-hundred paged textbook I had to carry daily in second grade (she also attributes my shortness to not drinking enough milk.) I prefer to think of it as body-building. They are also expensive, because publishers know you NEED them–so you don’t have a choice but to fork over the money. Many textbooks now also come with their own unique access codes for their online content, which makes it difficult to re-sell a used copy.

You might consider an alternative: e-textbooks! They are cheaper and are better for the environment–what a wonderful invention! Well, not really. I’m a graphic design major, which requires me to be glued to the computer at least ten hours a day (not including research and essay writing time.) The last thing I want to do is stare at another screen. I rather pay extra to give my eyes a rest.

And e-textbooks aren’t REALLY that cheap because you can’t re-sell them (legally.) From past experience, buying the e-textbook meant I would have to read the textbook at the publisher’s website by buying an access code. The access code will only last about one semester, so you won’t be able to refer to the textbook after a certain date. I understand the reluctance to allow downloading for fear of illegal mass-distribution, but it means I need to be connected to the Internet to read the textbook. This also means that if my Internet connection happened to be horrible, each page would take at least five minutes to “turn.” And it’s just plain unreliable, as the website might go down right before your exam (it happened, and it definitely wasn’t pretty.)

This article is written for US Bundle’s 2013 College Scholarship contest because being a college student is expensive. *keeps eating cup noodles*

